Hope Springs, September 2009

This one is a loosely bound collage/artist journal I made for a good friend to celebrate her one year anniversary of sobriety.  I bound handmade paper with waxed linen thread using a simple five hole stitch; I deckled the ends of the paper because I like the way the ragged edge looks.  The cover is chipboard, cut to size and covered with handmade paper using pva.  I misted the inside and outside of the covers with walnut ink, then stamped the title and painted small gold starburst embellishments with acrylics; the cover was then sealed with encaustic medium.  I used a clay charm created by Pat Holm as a further embellishment and to give some aesthetic effect to the braided hemp cord I attached for the closure.  The book is loosely bound to provide extra room for any found elements my friend wishes to include, since she loves to collage.

Leave a Reply

